Rooftop Fashion Shoot

A while back I shot these images as part of a hair editorial that sadly did not get published.  Timing is everything, and in this case, we were a little late getting it out to the editors.  I was going over some of the images recently and I realized I never put them out there.  I really liked the lighting and what the team and I did that day.  I got to mix a little strobe with daylight, which I love.  It always gives you a somewhat otherworldly look that I enjoy.  It’s like taking reality and giving it a visual focus on what you want.  In this case, I used a two light setup.  In shot one you can see the bare head strobe that I kept in a few of the shots.  It creates an in-camera natural starburst(not photoshop).   In the last set of images, you see the Redwing boom that is over the head of the orange/red haired(wig) asian model.  That was set to a fairly high power setting so that it would overpower the daylight and give it a somewhat darker look like dusk, even though I shot them in full daylight.



Sometimes it’s nice to leave the lights/equipment in the for atmosphere.  I thought leaving in the boom in this shot made it a little more dynamic and gave it some scale.

The trick to getting these images right was adding in a table to get the models a few feet off of the roof top itself.  This allowed me to get underneath them and shoot up, giving me more of the city above, and less of the regular looking rooftop below.   It’s a more cinematic viewpoint.  The clouds added a wonderful background.  I think if this day was just a normal sunny day, they wouldn’t have the visual impact that they have.   Hair, Makeup, and Styling by the Tearsheet Artistic Team.

Here’s a couple behind the scenes shots.  I added some mylar to the table that we were using to elevate the models to give it a stronger fill from the bottom.  I also had to reinforce the table with some wood pieces too to make it safer…

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Rooftop Fashion Shoot

  1. fashion says:

    informative post.I like this,thanks for sharing.Very nice and

Leave a Reply

