8×10 Camera Portrait Project

Well, I’ve finally decided to get my 8×10 camera project off the ground.  I’ve got a wonderful Horseman 8×10 camera that I’m going to be taking out in the field, and shooting in the studio.  It’s going to be a mixed media project that will include polaroid(made by polaroid), Fuji Instant Film, and of course, 8″x10″ film.  I think most of it will be black and white, but I will also shoot some color.  The objective of the project is going to be getting a wide range of New Yorkers in front of my lens.  Getting out into the field with this camera is not necessarily easy, but it is do-able.
So I thought I should start with my lovely and mostly patient wife, Maria.  She kept saying, “How long does this take”??  lol…Yes, this process takes longer than your usual portrait.  This will be one of the challenges of getting strangers to pose for it on the streets of New York.


So here’s a photo of the rig I’m using to get the camera around.  Basically, it’s a set cart, a tripod, and the camera.

Here’s a shot I took of myself in the studio.

Here’s Tomaz from New York Models.

So the project begins.  I’m really excited to shoot 8×10 film.  I think that part, and the film processing side is going to be a fun exploration.  I’ll post more as it progresses.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment